Evacuation

Evacuate your home

If the authorities require you to do so, or you feel that your safety is at risk, evacuate your home.

On the other hand, if the authorities ask you to remain in your home and shelter in place, follow that instruction.

If you evacuate your home, remember to bring along:

  • Your emergency kit
  • Medication and prescriptions for each family member
  • Everything needed for the well-being of young children (diapers, baby bottles, toys, etc.)
  • Supplies required for your pet (food, leash, etc.)
  • Identity documents for everyone in the household (health insurance card, driver’s licence, etc.)

Make sure to lock the doors when leaving your home. Leave a note in your mailbox to indicate the time of your departure and your destination. If you do not have a mailbox, inform your municipality of where you will be staying.

If the authorities ask you to evacuate your home, support services will be made available. Your municipality will set up a service centre for disaster victims , in particular. You must register at the centre or indicate where you are staying temporarily (for example, with family, neighbours or friends).

If you have family members, neighbours or colleagues with special needs, offer them your assistance.

If you must evacuate your home urgently in the presence of an immediate threat, stay calm. Gather the occupants and exit one by one through a safe exit unobstructed. Do not waste time to retrieve belongings or valuables. Close doors behind you. Once outside, check that no one is missing and head to a safe shelter or to the rallying point in your emergency plan. Tell the emergency services that you are safe. Keep your family members informed about your situation, preferably by text message, email or social media so as to not overload the phone lines.

Although evacuating your home is a difficult decision to make, it will protect you from underestimated hazards and allow you to receive assistance and support services that would otherwise be unavailable.

Evacuate a public place

In the event of evacuation from a public place, follow the authorities' instructions. They will guide the persons at the site, to ensure that the evacuation is carried out in a safe, orderly manner. They will indicate where you should go, where to assemble and what to take.

Other useful link

Top of page 
​​

Social media

Urgence Québec Twitter page

Urgence Québec Facebook page

Publications Facebook

Évacuation

Évacuez votre domicile

Si les autorités l’exigent ou si vous sentez que votre sécurité est compromise, évacuez votre domicile.

Si les autorités vous demandent au contraire de rester dans votre domicile et de vous mettre à l’abri, respectez cette consigne.

Si vous évacuez votre domicile, pensez à emporter :

  • votre trousse d’urgence;
  • les médicaments et les ordonnances de chacun des membres de votre famille;
  • tout ce qui est nécessaire au bien-être des jeunes enfants (couches, biberons, jouets, etc.);
  • le matériel dont votre animal d'assistance ou de compagnie a besoin (nourriture, laisse, etc.);
  • les documents d’identité de chaque occupant du domicile (carte d’assurance maladie, permis de conduire, etc.).

Assurez-vous de verrouiller les portes de votre domicile avant de le quitter. Déposez une note dans votre boîte aux lettres pour faire connaître le moment de votre départ et le lieu de votre destination. Si vous n’avez pas de boîte aux lettres, informez votre municipalité de l’endroit où vous trouverez refuge.

Si les autorités vous demandent d’évacuer votre domicile, des services de soutien seront offerts. Votre municipalité mettra notamment en place un centre de services aux personnes sinistrées. Vous devrez vous y inscrire ou faire connaître votre lieu de résidence temporaire (par exemple, dans la famille, chez des amis ou des voisins).

Si des proches, des voisins ou des collègues ont des besoins particuliers, offrez-leur votre aide.

Si vous devez évacuer votre domicile de toute urgence en présence d’une menace immédiate, gardez votre calme. Rassemblez les occupants et sortez un à un par une issue sécuritaire bien dégagée. Ne perdez pas de temps à récupérer des effets personnels ou des objets de valeur. Refermez les portes derrière vous. Une fois dehors, vérifiez que personne ne manque à l’appel et dirigez-vous vers un abri sûr ou vers le point de ralliement prévu dans votre plan d’urgence. Signalez-vous auprès des services d’urgence.

Bien que difficile à prendre, la décision d'évacuer votre domicile vous protège de dangers sous-estimés et vous permet de bénéficier de services d’aide et de réconfort inaccessibles autrement.

Évacuez un lieu public

En cas d’évacuation d’un lieu public, respectez les instructions du personnel ou des autorités afin que l’évacuation se fasse en toute sécurité et dans le bon ordre. On vous indiquera où vous diriger, où vous rassembler et quoi emporter.

Haut de page 

Médias sociaux

Page Twitter d’Urgence Québec

Page Facebook d’Urgence Québec

Publications Facebook